Diplo

USA - Pop, Trap, Dubstep & more

Thomas Wesley Pentz, better known as Diplo, is one of the most dynamic forces in music today. He is as much an international brand as he is a musician/DJ/producer. He's proven himself to be a ubiquitous cultural figure, consistently bridging high and low, mainstream and underground.

In 2004, after throwing parties in South Philadelphia, Pentz cemented himself as a full fledged artist through his debut album, "Florida" which received praise within the underground community. Diplo worked with M.I.A. on her mixtape and her first and second albums.

In 2005, Diplo founded label/culture lab Mad Decent to serve as a platform for showcasing the myriad of fascinating sounds Pentz encounters while touring the world. Notable artists include: Dillon Francis, DJ Snake, Baauer, and Riff Raff. Coming full circle from his days of Hollertronix, Diplo has utilized the label to produce the annual and infamous Mad Decent Block Parties -- a series of outdoor dance parties/concerts that now span 19 cities across North America.

After multiple Grammy nominations, including Producer of the Year, and being crowned the #1 most streamed artist on Soundcloud for 2013, Beyoncé's "Run the World" sampled Major Lazer's "Pon De Floor" and sold over a million copies, cementing Diplo's place in the pop world.

Fast forward to present day, Pentz has 235+ show dates under his belt in 2015 alone, and three 2016 Grammy Nominations including Producer of the Year, Best Dance Recording, and Best Dance/Electronic Album. Diplo remains the go-to producer for the who's who of the pop music landscape.

Diplo

Th. 4.July 2019
MAINSTAGE

Diplo

USA - Pop, Trap, Dubstep & more

Thomas Wesley Pentz, besser bekannt als Diplo, ist eine der dynamischsten Kräfte der heutigen Musik. Er ist eine internationale Marke ebenso wie er Musiker, DJ und Produzent ist. Er hat sich als allgegenwärtige Kulturfigur erwiesen, die konsequent Mainstream und Underground verbindet.

2004, nach Partys in Süd-Philadelphia, festigte sich Pentz als vollwertiger Künstler mit seinem Debütalbum "Florida", das in der Underground-Community Anerkennung fand. Diplo arbeitete mit M.I.A. an ihren Mixtape-, Erst- und Zweitalben.

2005 gründete Diplo das Label/Kulturlabor Mad Decent, um als Plattform zu dienen und die unzähligen faszinierenden Klänge zu präsentieren, die Pentz auf seiner Weltreise erlebte. Zu den namhaften Künstlern gehören: Dillon Francis, DJ Snake, Baauer und Riff Raff. Diplo schließt den Kreis aus seinen Tagen bei Hollertronix und hat das Label genutzt, um die jährlichen und berüchtigten Mad Decent Block Parties zu produzieren - eine Reihe von Outdoor-Tanzpartys/Konzerten, die mittlerweile 19 Städte in ganz Nordamerika umfassen.

Nach mehreren Grammy-Nominierungen, darunter Producer of the Year, und der Auszeichnung als #1 der am meisten gestreamten Künstler auf Soundcloud 2013, probierte Beyoncé's "Run the World" Major Lazers "Pon De Floor" aus und verkaufte sich über eine Million Mal und festigte damit Diplos Platz in der Popwelt.

Pentz hatte mehr als 235 Auftritte allein im Jahr 2015 und drei Grammy-Nominierungen 2016, darunter Producer of the Year, Best Dance Recording und Best Dance/Electronic Album.

Diplo

Do. 4.July 2019
MAINSTAGE